fbpx

Shop

Risk Management for Outdoor Programs (Online 4-week)

$259.00

Gain critical knowledge of best practices in outdoor program risk management. Learn procedures, systems and plans essential to meeting key outdoor safety standards.

Clear
Category:

Description

Viristar’s Risk Management for Outdoor Programs course provides a comprehensive training on safety management for outdoor and experiential professionals.

The course is suitable for managers and those with administrative or other leadership responsibilities for experiential, outdoor, wilderness, adventure, or travel programs.

The training is four weeks in length and takes place online.

Course Components

The course is composed of five video-conference sessions, each 90 minutes long. These live calls include seminar-style discussions, participant presentations, question and answer periods, and learning activities held in large and small groups.

In between video-conference sessions are four, week-long Independent Work Periods. During these times participants complete independent work including readings, video presentations, quizzes, discussion forums, video-based role-play simulations, assessments, and writing assignments such as a Risk Management Plan outline.

Course topics include:

  • Laws
  • Safety standards
  • Human factors
  • Equipment
  • Transportation
  • Insurance
  • Safety audits
  • Systems thinking
  • and much more.

Download a PDF version of the syllabus here.

Outcomes: you can expect to:

  • Gain critical knowledge of best practices in outdoor program risk management.
  • Learn procedures, systems and plans essential to meeting key outdoor safety standards.
  • Understand how to apply successful risk management strategies to adventure programs, experiential education, wilderness expeditions, and outdoor trips.

Textbook
The course includes lifetime access to an electronic, online-based copy of the course textbook Risk Management for Outdoor Programs: A Guide to Safety in Outdoor Education, Recreation and Adventure.

Certification
Participants take short quizzes throughout the course and a final written exam. Individuals who fully participate in learning activities and successfully complete the final exam receive a certificate from Viristar valid for three years.

Testimonials

Read what others have to say about the Risk Management for Outdoor Programs online course.

Dates and Times

The course is offered two times each month. One section, or cohort, has live sessions timed to be convenient for participants in the Americas and Europe. Another section, or cohort, has live sessions timed to be convenient for participants in the Asia-Pacific (APAC) region and the west coast of the Americas.

Below are specific times and dates for each group.

  • Cohort A refers to the class where live sessions are most convenient for participants in the Americas and Europe.
  • Cohort B refers to the class where live sessions are most convenient for participants in the Asia-Pacific or west coast of the Americas.

To enroll in a course, simply select the month you wish to begin your course. Then choose the cohort where live sessions are most convenient to your time zone.

Course begins: August 2021

Cohort A, most convenient for Americas/Europe participants:

No seats available.

Cohort B, most convenient for APAC participants:

(Times/dates based on Singapore time, UTC+8)

Wednesday, August 4 to Wednesday, September 11, 2021

Wednesday, August 4, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 1
Wednesday, August 11, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 2
Wednesday, August 18, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 3
Wednesday, August 25, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 4
Wednesday, September 1, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 5

Independent work occurs between Live Sessions.
Refer to the time zone conversion chart below to see the date and time the course occurs for your time zone.

Course begins: September 2021

Cohort A, most convenient for Americas/Europe participants:

(Times/dates based on New York time, UTC-4)

Wednesday, September 1 to Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Wednesday, September 1, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 1
Wednesday, September 8, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 2
Wednesday, September 15, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 3
Wednesday, September 22, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 4
Wednesday, September 29, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 5

Cohort B, most convenient for APAC participants:

No seats available.

Independent work occurs between Live Sessions.
Refer to the time zone conversion chart below to see the date and time the course occurs for your time zone.

Course begins: October 2021

Cohort A, most convenient for Americas/Europe participants:

No seats available.

Cohort B, most convenient for APAC participants:

(Times/dates based on Singapore time, UTC+8)

Wednesday, October 6 to Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Wednesday, October 6, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 1
Wednesday, October 13, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 2
Wednesday, October 20, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 3
Wednesday, October 27, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 4
Wednesday, November 3, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 5

Independent work occurs between Live Sessions.
Refer to the time zone conversion chart below to see the date and time the course occurs for your time zone.

Course begins: November 2021

Cohort A, most convenient for Americas/Europe participants:

(Times/dates based on New York time, UTC-4)

Wednesday, November 3 to Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Wednesday, November 3, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 1
Wednesday, November 10, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 2
Wednesday, November 17, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 3
Wednesday, November 24, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 4
Wednesday, December 1, 11:00 am New York time (UTC-4) Live Session 5

Cohort B, most convenient for APAC participants:

No seats available.

Independent work occurs between Live Sessions.
Refer to the time zone conversion chart below to see the date and time the course occurs for your time zone.

Course begins: December 2021

Cohort A, most convenient for Americas/Europe participants:

No seats available.

Cohort B, most convenient for APAC participants:

(Times/dates based on Singapore time, UTC+8)

Wednesday, December 1 to Wednesday, December 29, 2021

Wednesday, December 1, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 1
Wednesday, December 8, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 2
Wednesday, December 15, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 3
Wednesday, December 22, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 4
Wednesday, December 29, 11:00 am Singapore time (UTC+8) Live Session 5

Independent work occurs between Live Sessions.
Refer to the time zone conversion chart below to see the date and time the course occurs for your time zone.

Time Zone Converter

A time zone conversion chart is provided below for your convenience.

For Cohort A (Americas/Europe timing):
Saturday, 11 am New York time (UTC-5) is also:
Saturday, 8 am Los Angeles (UTC-8)
Saturday, 4 pm London (UTC+0)
Saturday, 9:30 pm India (UTC+5.30)
Sunday (the day after), 12 midnight Singapore (UTC+8)
Sunday (the day after), 2 am Sydney AU (UTC+10)

For Cohort B (Asia-Pacific timing):
Wednesday, 11 am Singapore time (UTC+8) is also:
Tuesday (the day before), 7 pm Los Angeles (UTC-8)
Tuesday (the day before), 10 pm New York (UTC-5)
Wednesday, 3 am London (UTC+0)
Wednesday, 8:30 am India (UTC+5.30)
Wednesday, 1 pm Sydney AU (UTC+10)

Note: adjust the times above as needed if your region observes Daylight Savings Time.

Enrollment

  1.  Choose the month you wish to begin your training.
  2.  Next, choose the cohort that has Live Sessions most convenient for your time zone.
  3.  Finally, click ‘Add to Cart,’ then click ‘View Cart,’ then proceed to checkout.

Additional information

Month

August, September, October, November, December

Cohort

A (Best for Americas/Europe), B (Best for APAC)

X